SILHOUETTE DE vs. SCAL Features

Posted on Updated on

Today I want to do some comparisons between the DE version of Silhouette Studio and the Basic version of Sure Cuts a Lot 4 (SCAL). There are some differences and there are some things I think each does better, and being the software junkie I am, I have both. But if I had to choose, I’d go with SCAL. I also have SCAL 4 Pro so I’ll talk about that too. I don’t have Silhouette Business Edition. I have MTC (told you I was a software junkie) but I find it difficult to use and I don’t feel they’ve kept up with SCAL. Also I use a Mac as well as a PC and they don’t have a driver for the Mac.

This isn’t a comparison of all features. I just don’t have that much time. The features that I still use Studio DE for is the Sketch Pens and the Knives. I feel SCAL fell down on this. The most important feature in SCAL (to me) is the ability to export as SVG, PNG and JPG because it allows me to use it as a true design software. I sell my designs and (in my opinion) using Studio to do that yields inferior results. Unless you have version 2.0, you have to trace your image and all but the most simple images will not be as good as the original.

 

Studio DE

SCAL Basic

Cost

$49.99 (discounts available)

$59.99 ($19.99 upgrade from any version)

Ruler

Yes

Yes

SVGs

Yes

Yes

.Studio Files

Yes

No

Shape Drawing

Yes

Yes

Additional Shapes

No

285

Uses OTF/TTF Fonts

Yes

Yes

Access Within Program to Mapped Fonts Such as Samantha

No

Yes

Skew Shapes (for taking Upright Fonts to look Italic)

Yes

Yes

Eraser

Yes

Yes

Knife

Yes (more options)

Yes

Rhinestones

Yes

Yes (more options)

Wrapper Distort (for shaping designs to tumblers and glasses)

No

Yes

Type on a Path

No (but can be moved to a path)

Yes

Barrel Distort (see below)

No

Yes

Bulge Distort (see below)

No

Yes (many adjustments for unique shapes)

Canned Distort (see below)

No

Yes

Lattice (see Below)

No

Yes (many adjustments)

Sketch Fill

(see Below)

Yes (many options)

No, but can be done in a limited way with Line Fill

Knockout

No

Yes, plus ability to create gap effects

Puzzle

No

Yes

Wave Distort

No

Yes (lots of adjustments)

Save as SVG, PNG, JPG

No

Yes

Trace

Yes

Yes (better – ability to trace by color)

 

 

Barrel Distort

 

 

 

 

Bulge Distorts


 

Canned Distort (adjustments available)

 

 

 

 

Lattice            

 

 

 

 

Line Fill                     SKETCH

 

 

 

 

 

    

 

Wave Distort

 

Leave a Reply

